State Flag and Seal

Image of the Massachusetts state seal with a red line through it

ACTION ALERT – MA FLAG & SEAL BILL

Dear Friends and Supporters of Racial Justice:

The time has come to change the white supremacist state flag and seal of Massachusetts, which features a white hand holding a Colonial broadsword over the head of a Native American.

Please take a moment from your day today to contact the members of the Joint Committee on Rules, and urge them to do all they can to approve the long stalled legislation ( S.1877 / H.2776) to change the Mass flag and seal!

Racial justice delayed – for 36 years in the case of the legislation to change the Massachusetts flag and seal – is racial justice denied. Please contact the Rules Committee now!

Use our form to send your letter, or use the email template and contact information below.

Sample Letter:

Dear Member of the Joint Committee on Rules:

I am a resident of (city or town), Massachusetts. I am writing in support of (S.1877 / H.2776) the bill to create a special commission, made up of Native leaders of the area now known as Massachusetts and state legislators, to change the state flag and seal of Massachusetts. The time has come to remove the sword that has been hanging over the heads of the Native people of this land for 400 years! This legislation has been stalled for 36 years in the legislature. Even Mississippi is holding bipartisan discussions now to remove the Confederate symbol from its state flag – which would leave Massachusetts as the last flag of white supremacy flying in the country. This image is a disgrace to the progressive traditions of our Commonwealth, an offense to Native people, and to everyone who upholds the value of racial justice for all. Thirty nine Massachusetts cities and towns have already voted at town meeting or city council to change the Massachusetts flag and seal, and an equal number of legislators now co-sponsor S.1877 / H.2776). Please vote favorably to move the legislation to change the Massachusetts flag and seal forward now.

Thank you,

Send to:

Sen. Joan Lovely, Chair; Sen. Joseph Boncore, Vice-Chair; Rep. William Galvin, Chair; Rep. Daniel Hunt, Vice-Chair

Members: Sen. Adam Hinds; Sen. William Brownsberger; Sen. Cindy Friedman; Sen, Ryan Fattman; Sen. Bruce Tarr; Rep. Louis Kafka; Rep. Joseph Wagner; Rep. Ronald Mariano; Rep. Paul Donato; Rep. Patricia Haddad; Rep. Alice Peisch; Rep. Michael Moran; Rep. Sarah Peake; Rep. Ann-Margaret Ferrante; Rep. Kimberly Ferguson; Rep. David Viera; Rep Donald Wong.

Joan.Lovely@masenate.gov 
Joseph.Boncore@masenate.gov
William.Galvin@mahouse.gov
Daniel.Hunt@mahouse.gov
Adam.Hinds@masenate.gov
William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov
Cindy.Friedman@masenate.gov
Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov
Bruce.Tarr@masenate.gov
Louis.Kafka@mahouse.gov
Joseph.Wagner@mahouse.gov
Ronald.Mariano@mahouse.gov
Paul.Donato@mahouse.gov
Patricia.Haddad@mahouse.gov
Alice.Peisch@mahouse.gov
Michael.Moran@mahouse.gov
Sarah.Peake@mahouse.gov
Ann-Margaret.Ferrante@mahouse.gov
Kimberly.Ferguson@mahouse.gov
David.Vieira@mahouse.gov
Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov 

More Information:

MAIndigenousAgenda.org and Mass Peace Action are calling for broad support for this bill. Here are some of the ways you can be involved.

Go to the Change the Flag and Seal website for information and background on the bill. You can also go to the Massachusetts Indigenous Agenda website for information and updates about this and 4 other bills relating to Indigenous People currently before the MA legislature.

For more information contact Mass Peace Action and Massachusetts Indigenous Agenda.

Bill Details

Bill Name: Resolve Providing for the creation of a Special Commission relative to the Seal and Motto of the Commonwealth

House Number: H.2776 https://malegislature.gov/Bills/191/H2776
Senate Number: S.1877 https://malegislature.gov/Bills/191/S1877

Bill Description: A bill to establish a special commission which shall make recommendations regarding a revised or new design of the seal of the commonwealth and a revised or new motto of the commonwealth – to be comprised of five state legislators, five Native leaders of the Commonwealth, three representatives of major statewide arts organizations, the House and Senate chairs of the Joint Committee on State Administration and Regulatory Authority, the Secretary of State or her designee, the Mass Historic Commission or her designee, two persons to be appointed by the governor, and the executive director of the Massachusetts Commission on Indian Affairs, who shall chair the special commission.

Contact: daviddetmold@gmail.com / Visit changethemassflag.com to learn more.

House Presenters: Lindsay Sabadosa (D – 1st Hampshire), Nika Elugardo, (D – 15th Suffolk)

Cosponsors of House Bill: Jason M. Lewis, Jack Patrick Lewis, Maria Duaime Robinson, Ruth B. Balser, Michael J. Barrett, Jennifer E. Benson, Natalie M. Blais, Paul Brodeur, Michelle L. Ciccolo, Mike Connolly, Daniel R. Cullinane, Marjorie C. Decker, Mindy Domb, Carmine Lawrence Gentile, Tami L. Gouveia, Jonathan Hecht, Natalie M. Higgins, Patricia D. Jehlen, Kay Khan, David Paul Linsky, Elizabeth A. Malia, Christina A. Minicucci, Denise Provost, Rebecca L. Rausch, David M. Rogers, Thomas M. Stanley, Tommy Vitolo, Susannah M. Whipps

Senate Presenter: Jason Lewis (D – 5th Middlesex)

Cosponsors of Senate Bill: Joanne M. Comerford, Jack Patrick Lewis, Maria Duaime Robinson, Mike Connolly, William N. Brownsberger, Thomas M. Stanley, James B. Eldridge, Adam G. Hinds, Brendan P. Crighton, Patricia D. Jehlen, Michael J. Barrett, Rebecca L. Rausch, Elizabeth A. Malia, Nick Collins, Paul W. Mark, Julian Cyr

Committee: Joint Committee on State Administration and Regulatory Oversight