State Flag and Seal

Bill Name: Resolve Providing for the creation of a Special Commission relative to the Seal and Motto of the Commonwealth

House Number: H.2776
Senate Number: S.1877

Bill Description: A bill to establish a special commission which shall make recommendations regarding a revised or new design of the seal of the commonwealth and a revised or new motto of the commonwealth – to be comprised of five state legislators, five Native leaders of the Commonwealth, three representatives of major statewide arts organizations, the House and Senate chairs of the Joint Committee on State Administration and Regulatory Authority, the Secretary of State or her designee, the Mass Historic Commission or her designee, two persons to be appointed by the governor, and the executive director of the Massachusetts Commission on Indian Affairs, who shall chair the special commission.

Contact: / Visit to learn more.

House Presenters: Lindsay Sabadosa (D – 1st Hampshire), Nika Elugardo, (D – 15th Suffolk)

House Cosponsors: Jason M. Lewis, Jack Patrick Lewis, Maria Duaime Robinson, Ruth B. Balser, Michael J. Barrett, Jennifer E. Benson, Natalie M. Blais, Paul Brodeur, Michelle L. Ciccolo, Mike Connolly, Daniel R. Cullinane, Marjorie C. Decker, Mindy Domb, Carmine Lawrence Gentile, Tami L. Gouveia, Jonathan Hecht, Natalie M. Higgins, Patricia D. Jehlen, Kay Khan, David Paul Linsky, Elizabeth A. Malia, Christina A. Minicucci, Denise Provost, Rebecca L. Rausch, David M. Rogers, Thomas M. Stanley, Tommy Vitolo, Susannah M. Whipps

Senate Presenter: Jason Lewis (D – 5th Middlesex)

Senate Cosponsors: Joanne M. Comerford, Jack Patrick Lewis, Maria Duaime Robinson, Mike Connolly, William N. Brownsberger, Thomas M. Stanley, James B. Eldridge, Adam G. Hinds, Brendan P. Crighton, Patricia D. Jehlen, Michael J. Barrett, Rebecca L. Rausch, Elizabeth A. Malia, Nick Collins, Paul W. Mark, Julian Cyr

Committee: Joint Committee on State Administration and Regulatory Oversight